DNF for Crutchlow at Sepang

3 November 2019 - Latest news
DNF for Crutchlow at Sepang

The Malaysian Grand Prix ended in frustration for Cal Crutchlow as he crashed out late on at the Sepang International Circuit. The LCR Honda CASTROL rider had high hopes of repeating his podium finish at Phillip Island in the last round after qualifying on the second row, but struggled to recover after making a bad start to Sunday’s race. From fifth on the grid, the Briton found himself crowded out at the first corner and lost a number of positions. Although he tried to battle back, he was unable to find the rhythm he wanted and eventually crashed out at turn 15 with six laps to go, when in 12th place.

Cal Crutchlow – DNF
“Today was a difficult race, we’re very disappointed with the result of crashing out of the Malaysian Grand Prix. Today I got a really bad start and on the first lap found myself really far back in the field already. I tried to make progress and I was in a group that eventually finished around eighth place, but I had a bad feeling with the tyres today and didn’t feel good grip from the track or with our bike setting. Over the weekend I felt we’d made progress and could have had a good result today, but after the bad start I struggled to have the pace of going with the front guys. With the crash, I made a small mistake in the braking as I was trying everything to find the grip with the front tyre and unfortunately I locked the front. But we’d had a good last few races and now we look forward to the season finale in Valencia.”

Race results:

Pos. Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Maverick VIÑALES Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP 40’14.632
2 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 3.059
3 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 5.611
4 Valentino ROSSI Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP 5.965
5 Alex RINS Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 6.350
6 Franco MORBIDELLI Petronas Yamaha SRT 9.993
7 Fabio QUARTARARO Petronas Yamaha SRT 12.864
8 Jack MILLER Pramac Racing 17.252
9 Danilo PETRUCCI Ducati Team 19.773
10 Joan MIR Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 22.854
11 Pol ESPARGARO Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 24.821
12 Francesco BAGNAIA Pramac Racing 30.251
13 Aleix ESPARGARO Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 30.447
14 Jorge LORENZO Repsol Honda Team 34.215
15 Mika KALLIO Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 34.461
16 Hafizh SYAHRIN Red Bull KTM Tech 3 44.319
17 Karel ABRAHAM Reale Avintia Racing 47.343
Not Classified
Johann ZARCO LCR Honda IDEMITSU 4 Laps
Andrea IANNONE Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 9 Laps