Cal Crutchlow to start AustrianGP from 20th

14 August 2021 - Latest news
Cal Crutchlow to start AustrianGP from 20th

The Spielberg circuit hosted another tight MotoGP Qualifying today, where PETRONAS Yamaha Sepang Racing Team’s Valentino Rossi ended the day 18th. Cal Crutchlow will start the AustrianGP from 20th.

With a dry track for FP3, Crutchlow was quick to improve upon his best time from yesterday’s Free Practice sessions. Continuing to reduce his lap time, the Brit ended FP3 20th with a 1min 24.193secs lap. After showing a good race pace in FP4, Cal showed further improvements in Q1 and bettered his Qualifying lap from last weekend. Crutchlow will start the AustrianGP from 20th, after posting the tenth fastest lap in Q1 – 1min 24.509secs.

#35 Cal Crutchlow – P20 – 1.24,509

We’ve definitely made some improvements with the bike and I understand more about the package now, especially with the electronics. I’m feeling positive this weekend and more comfortable. We are struggling with engine braking at the moment, which is why I didn’t have the best Qualifying session and I know I could have been faster. We need to look at this ahead of the race but FP4 was quite good, I’m feeling more confident and I’m faster than last week. The thing is everyone is so strong and they’re all getting faster and faster. I’m looking forward to tomorrow though and let’s see how the race pans out.

Results Q1 & Q2 combined:

PosRiderTeamFastest lap
1Jorge MARTINPramac Racing1’22.643
2Fabio QUARTARAROMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGP1’22.677
3Francesco BAGNAIADucati Lenovo Team1’23.063
4Johann ZARCOPramac Racing1’23.120
5Marc MARQUEZRepsol Honda Team1’23.227
6Jack MILLERDucati Lenovo Team1’23.320
7Joan MIRTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1’23.378
8Aleix ESPARGAROAprilia Racing Team Gresini1’23.423
9Miguel OLIVEIRARed Bull KTM Factory Racing1’23.499
10Brad BINDERRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1’23.568
11Pol ESPARGARORepsol Honda Team1’23.738
12Takaaki NAKAGAMILCR Honda IDEMITSU1’23.990
13Alex RINSTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1’23.470
14Alex MARQUEZLCR Honda CASTROL1’23.535
15Enea BASTIANINIAvintia Esponsorama1’23.790
16Iker LECUONATech 3 KTM Factory Racing1’23.825
17Luca MARINISKY VR46 Avintia1’23.834
18Valentino ROSSIPetronas Yamaha SRT1’23.939
19Danilo PETRUCCITech 3 KTM Factory Racing1’24.405
20Cal CRUTCHLOWPetronas Yamaha SRT1’24.509